

DEPARTMENT OF THE ARMY U.S. ARMY CORPS OF ENGINEERS 441 G STREET, NW WASHINGTON, DC 20314-1000

CECW-CO-N

MEMORANDUM FOR CHIEFS, OPERATIONS, MAJOR SUBORDINATE COMMANDS AND DISTRICT COMMANDS

SUBJECT: 2023 National Volunteer of the Year Award Selection

- 1. I am pleased to announce that Tim and Pam Harrison of Kaw Lake in the Tulsa District (SWD) have been selected as the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers (USACE) recipients of the 2023 National Volunteer of the Year Award.
- 2. The Harrisons have been selected for this award due to their dedicated service to the recreation, flood risk management, and environmental stewardship programs at Kaw Lake. They have donated 6,763 hours of volunteer service over a five-year period including 1,475 hours in FY 2023. While at Kaw Lake, the Harrisons have supported a wide range of objectives, including visitor assistance, interpretation, landscaping, hazard tree removal, invasive species removal, campground host duties and routine repairs and maintenance. Throughout their service at Kaw Lake, they have been invaluable in recovering from several natural disasters, including the 2018 high pool event, the 2019 flood of record, the 2020 historic ice storm, and countless other storm and high wind-related events.
- 3. The National Volunteer of the Year Award is supported by the Corps Foundation in recognition of the extraordinary service provided by volunteers. This award distinguishes individuals, couples, and families who give their skills, talents, and time beyond the normal call of duty and whose creditable service to USACE has resulted in the significant enhancement to one or more of the USACE business lines. The award will be presented to Mr. and Mrs. Harrison later in the year.
- 4. All of the nominees provided significant contributions and are deserving of special mention. They are Steve Baker at Lake Texoma (SWT), Randy and Debbie Connor at W. Kerr Scott Reservoir (SAW), Phillip and Kris Huckans at Falls Lake (SAW), Mike and JoKaren Moyers at Rend Lake (MVS), Tamara Rabun at J. Strom Thurmond Lake (SAS), Jim Chabot and Amy Sworan at Bonneville Lock and Dam (NWP), Erin Cutler at Mud Mountain Dam (NWS), Darrell and Stephanie Cline at Lewisville Lake (SWF), and Randy Gibson at Old Hickory Lake (LRN).

SUBJECT: 2023 National Volunteer of the Year Award Selection

5. Please pass along my congratulations to Tim and Pam Harrison as the 2023 overall winners and to all of the nominees for their outstanding service! The point of contact for this award is Heather Burke, National Partnership Program Manager, who can be reached via e-mail at heather.d.burke@usace.army.mil or phone at 503-808-4313.

THOMAS P. SMITH, P.E Chief, Operations and Regulatory Division